File Locks

By default, Heretto CCMS uses collaborative locks.

Collaborative Locks

When a Heretto CCMS user opens a file, a collaborative lock is applied, which allows other users in Heretto CCMS to work in the file.

When collaborators are working in a file, a collaboration icon in the file listing indicates that the file is locked by collaborators.

collaborative lock icon

The collaborative lock prevents certain system-level automated actions on the file until all users have stopped working in the file. When the collaborative lock is released, Heretto CCMS records a revision in the file history.

Non-Collaborative Locks

When you open files using an editor other than Heretto CCMS, a lock icon in the file listing indicates that the file is locked non-collaboratively. Hovering over the icon shows who the file is locked by. Only the user of the external editor can work in the file. When the external editor releases the lock, the lock icon is removed.

external editor lock icon
Note: If you're an Administrator, you can force unlock files locked by others.

When a file is locked, a lock icon shows in the file listing to indicate that the file is locked.

Tip: You can use the Search tab to view all files locked by you or a specific user